Would you really want to be a baby again?

baby Wyatt Every now and then, a thought about my childhood will surface, and for a few moments I am lost in time enjoying the memory.

Not too long ago, I was talking to my mother, who is now 90, and I told her “I wish we could go back and be little again.” I thought she would agree as we were such “precious” children-smile– and due to her age, surely she too would like to be young again. Her response, however, blew me away.

She said, “Not me, I am happy and content with my age, where I am in life.” Well, I was left with nothing to say, there was no comeback.

Knowing she has a few health issues, can’t walk anymore–is confined to a wheelchair I was amazed at this response. Still am. How wonderful to be at peace where you are in life, at that moment in time, and not wish to be another age or somewhere else or for things to be different. If only everyone could have that peace…the world might be more peaceful.

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors and people who love to read.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Would you really want to be a baby again?

  1. paulfpavao says:

    The apostle Paul said that departing and being with our beloved King is “far better.” Each day we are one step closer to having run our course and entering something “far better.” Each day he adds circumstances, if we love our Father and are called for his purposes, that bring about good for his Kingdom and for us.

  2. Me too Jean, I would be happy to look like I did at 30.

  3. Hey, I am happy with where I am in life, but I would love to look like I did at 20.

Leave a Reply

