Did they train you right?

family 1I remember my children graduating. I felt all the feelings that parents felt. I tried hard to let go and give them some space…to make their way in college. Some days I succeeded, some days I didn’t. Because I worked, I was able to spend more time doing that which helped me fill my days so the longing to see them didn’t become overwhelming. But there were many days I ached to see my girls when they were in college. Yet I knew that would not be letting go. So I weathered through those times and before long, summer would be there and they would be home, only to turn around and leave in a couple of months.

The toughest part for a parent, I think, is the letting go of the child you send off to college who becomes an adult along the way.   A new chapter opens up for the relationship between parent and college student. At times,  it seems like you are on an escalator that is a little jerky and goes back and forth many times until it settles down into a smooth movement. When to and when not to. It seems our kids train us well, and do everything they can to help us to  let go.

We hope we make them proud and behave as responsible parents, no nagging, crying, begging them to stay home. Just keeping our arms open…just in case!

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Did they train you right?

  1. My Darlings, you both have already surpassed me. You both are incredible women in your own rights. I am so proud of both of you and so glad to be your mother.

  2. harber0711 says:

    You are an amazing woman. Your daughters are very proud of you and hope that we can become half the woman that you are.

Leave a Reply

