What will be the expression on your face?

Senior woman contemplating My mother is in a nursing home now, she is 90 and things she used to do for herself she can no longer do. I am grateful for the good people who work there and see to her needs.

Each time I go there to visit I can’t help but notice the faces of people who no longer care about life. Don’t get me wrong, not all of them are like that. Some of the people are smiling and involved–but there are those that aren’t. These are the ones I always wonder about. What are they thinking, what are they wishing? Do they think of the things they wished they had done? Do they wish there lives had been different? Do they wish they could still do things? Do they wish life hadn’t been so short?

I also wonder when I see them what were there dreams? Did they work toward the dreams or did they give up on them.

Everytime I come away from there, I resolve to do better, be better and to make sure I step out in life, not sit back and let it pass me by. I make a note to not allow procrastination to block me achieving my dreams. To be diligent in changing the direction of my life when it needs to be changed. To gather up courage when needed and overcome fear. To make a difference in someones life.

Maybe the expression some of the people have is one of sadness. They have looked back at their lives and wished…wished…wished.

Today, do you need to make a different choice?

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors and people who love to read.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

