So how do you do it?

Office Worker with Mountain of Paperwork
Sometimes our life can become overwhelming with the amount of work we have to do. When it does, I become quiet and somewhat agitated. I don’t like things pulling at me. Never have. I also don’t like things complicated, I believe we should strive to keep our lives more simple. Yes, I do strive every day to lay out a plan of what needs to be accomplished and when, but I have to tell you, the moment I show up at my desk, turn on my computer and go to my email…my day takes a different direction.

All of a sudden I find myself allowing other things to direct what I get done that day. At the end of the day, when I look at the things I planned out to do, none were marked off. Before long I have made copies of things needed to be done.

Now before you suggest I not do as much work, let me say that is not possible. I just need to find a better way of working my plan. A good friend suggested I open my emails, if they were urgent, then put that in my priority list. If not urgent, put it somewhere on the list where it can be done based on the importance.

I do think my friend has a valid suggestion, and I do plan on incorporating it. Now however, I am beginning to think instead of having just a day plan, perhaps I need a week plan. With this I could lay out the entire week, listing things where they needed to be in regard to importance. I think I like that idea. Now all I have to do is find time to lay out the plan.

Everyday we have tremendous amounts of information coming at us. With technology it was supposed to be simpler. Right? So then how did I become
waited down with paperwork? That is what I ask myself quite often. So far, my friends haven’t been able to give me a good enough answer. Well, at least not one that I like!

So, what do you do with all of your paper work? How do you get it all done?

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

