Paying Your Way!

 

workers at sunset 02“All labor that uplifts humanity has dignity and importance and should be undertaken with painstaking excellence, by Martin Luther King, Jr.

When I was growing up I was taught many lessons about working. One of the important lessons was to always, without fail, to do my best at the task at hand. Second thing I was taught was not to complain about it but to be grateful I had a job. When I was growing up jobs were hard to come by. The third thing I was taught was that no task was beneath me. If it needed doing, do it.

I don’t know what is being taught to children today, or what was taught yesterday to the children that are now grown, but I do wonder.

There just seems to be a lot of people who think they are owed something and shouldn’t have to work. I guess they think the government owes them a living. Having lived this long, I can honestly say, I have never met a person that I thought was too good to work and I have certainly never met a person that I thought deserved to have the government give them a living.

I still believe when you work and you do a good job you can’t help but feel good about it. You have a feeling of accomplishing something that day. I guess it goes back to earning your keep.

But I can’t imagine people feel very good about themselves who don’t work and just lay around. Maybe their self-esteem would grow if they grew in statue,  especially if they were paying their way-earning their keep. These things give you a good feeling about yourself.

 

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

