DISAPPOINTMENTS HAPPEN…BUT

sadness1th We’ve all experienced disappointment. We know how it feels. Many years ago, as newlyweds, we were transferred to a new city. We prepared everything, put our condo on the market, visited the city, and a few weeks later found a house to buy. About that same time, we got an offer on our condo.

We were thrilled to say the least. It was working out perfectly. We accepted their offer; made an offer on the house in the new city, it was accepted. Three days later, the couple who was going to buy ours, backed out.

You can imagine our disappointment. The first few days the disappointment seemed to loom over me. I hated this feeling. I knew I had to change my attitude. For me, this meant changing the way I was looking at the situation.

I began looking for the positive in what happened. I had to dig deep at first but eventually I was able to see positive and eliminate the negatives I had felt. It wasn’t long, just a few days, and I was feeling much better and my attitude was on a comeback. A few weeks later, someone else made an offer, and it went through. And this offer was better than the first one.

The main thing for me was I felt better, even before the sale. That was an important lesson for me. To keep my attitude in check. When disappointment comes, and it will occasionally, look to see what positives are in that disappointment.

I am convinced having the right positive attitudes will help you soar upward and the negative attitudes keep you dragging on the ground.

W. Clement Stone said, “There is little difference in people, but that little difference makes a big difference. The little difference is the attitude. The big difference is whether it is positive or negative.”w.clementstone

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors and people who love to read.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DISAPPOINTMENTS HAPPEN…BUT

  1. Thank you for the reminder that a good attitude makes for a good day.

Leave a Reply

