Reverence and Awe

Mark Wahlberg Mark Wahlberg said, “The first thing I do when I start my day is, I get down on my hands and knees and give thanks to God. Whenever I go outside of my house, the first thing I do is stop at the church.”

When you think of Mark Wahlberg you think of a macho guy in the movies. To know this man starts his day this way and is giving thanks to God for all that he is and all that he has makes me wonder how many of us do this. As Jack Nicolson said in the movie, As Good As It Gets, “This makes me want to be a better man,” what Mark Wahlberg does every morning makes me want to be a better person and a more thankful person.

Although I have my devotion every morning, not being Catholic, I don’t go by the church. This however, makes me wish my church were open every morning. Maybe I should check and see when they do open.

Wahlberg shows a reverence and awe for God. Something I thought I did. But he has taken it a step further. This I can do.

As children we are taught to pray. Some parents teach their children to say their prayers when they go to bed. The parent gets on their knees along with their child, puts their hands together, being an example for their child. They teach their child to pray. This is a great gift to give your child, something that will follow them through adulthood.

May we all be better examples for God and to our children.

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors and people who love to read.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

