Today is My Day and Yours–Smile

Mom holding Susan Today is my mothers special day…here she is holding me 69 years ago. See her smile? Each year, although it is my birthday, it is still her special day. It’s that way for her on my sister and brother’s birthdays. I am grateful she is still here and can wish me Happy Birthday and that the day brings back happy memories for her. She’s glad I am her daughter, I’m glad too. Words are so wonderful aren’t they. I am blessed to hear her words but most important I am blessed to have experienced those words in action from my birth to now.

I appreciate my birth and am so glad I had the opportunity to be here…to have a wonderful mother and people who have loved me all my life. Even when we go through hard times, just knowing people love you helps get us through. Our lives are made the better for having been loved and for loving.

In looking back over these 69 years, I am amazed because I don’t feel what I think a 69-year-old would feel like. I don’t think about age…if you would have stopped me on the street last month and ask me my age I would have had to think. I feel like I did in my thirties…only smarter. (Notice, I didn’t say I looked like I was in my thirties)

Everyday should be celebrated and appreciated. We should smile outward as well as inward. So I hope you will enjoy my day, even though you aren’t here with me and might not even know me. Enjoy it to the fullest–greet everyone you meet with a smile and a “Happy” wish for them to have a good day.

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today is My Day and Yours–Smile

  1. Thank you Jess for both…my birthday wish and my compliment.

  2. Your mom is beautiful! You look just like her. Happy birthday!

Leave a Reply

