Thankful is as thankful does!

SUSANCROPPEDANDBEST Everyday we get up and meet the new day. I couldn’t help but wonder today about those that get up and start their day out unhappy. Normally I would not have given any thought to that subject on waking up, but I woke up in pain in my leg. That is what got me to thinking about how people get up each day. I will admit to feeling a little disgruntled because of the pain. Then it occurred to me,we are about as happy as we want to be. (Abraham Lincoln I believe said, “People are about as happy as they want to be.”…or something like that.) I thought about my situation, and quickly decided I didn’t want it to cloud-up my whole day. So I just prayed about it, and deliberately got up and walked around, stretching and bending. At first it wasn’t pleasant, but within a few minutes I began to limber up and was feeling much better, physically, mentally and emotionally.

I began to give thanks for being able to stretch, bend, walk and think. Then my thanks went further. I gave thanks for my children, grandchildren, great-grandchildren, husband, mother, siblings and their families, friends…the list goes on, it wasn’t long until I had a thankful attitude and a thankful heart.

So what started out in hurt wound up in thankfulness.

How about you. What can you give thanks for today?

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

