I’ll take what they are having!

fall2Couldn’t help but notice Saturday, eating lunch out, that I am heating healthy…diet like and here the next table over that lady is eating fried steak, fried potatoes. two rolls, butter, (ask for more) fried okra, mac and cheese, and then had a three layer pie…What did I have? Well, tomatoes, green beans, broccoli, greens…it was a vegetable plate. No pie. No bread. Ice Water and non-sweet tea.

For a few minutes I was envious (perhaps drooling a bit-fortunately I had a napkin). As I began to eat, I was taken aback when the lady requested the waitress bring her some rice and gravy. Now don’t get me wrong, I sure don’t believe anyone should go away hungry, especially from a restaurant, but now really. Another carb? As she looked over at me, I quickly looked down at my plate, hoping she didn’t think I was staring at her. Not that I thought she would be embarrassed but that I would be.

Later in the evening, I got to thinking about her and wondered if she was doing like so many of us do, feeding her feelings. After all, I had to idea what she dealt with in her life–stress, anger and disappointment. Hadn’t I been guilty of feeding my feelings before? So I was made to feel humble and grateful, that I was not stuffing my feelings but instead learning everyday what I can do and what I can’t do.

How about you? Are you stuffing your feelings?

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors and people who love to read.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

