A Trip Down Memory Lane for Mom

wedding10I was visiting my mom, who is 90 years old, on Friday. She lives in a nursing home. While there we discussed things she remembered about her childhood as well as young adult hood. This I always enjoy doing, it let’s me get to know her in a time before I was born.

When I think of the years my mom was 18-20 I think of it being a time of tranquility and fun. After all the Great Depression was beginning to ease in 1940. The mood in America was changing to gladness from gloom. Americans were beginning to earn more money which allowed them to buy more which helped the economy. It was a better time. Do you realize this was when  “Gone With the Wind” was made, and Jazz was the popular music from greats like Benny Goodman. Having seen pictures of my mom and three of her cousins, I knew she loved to dance. She was also a talented piano player. Needless to say, through my growing up years I heard her play a lot of the songs from that era. I especially enjoyed hearing her play the ‘boogie woogie’ tunes (piano based blues poplar in the early 1930’s and 1940’s) She made those key’s dance.

The year before Nylon stockings were invented, so they were the rage.  You can bet my mom had nylons and was well dressed in the attire of that period. A couple of years later, she got ‘Most Beautiful’ in college.

As we talked about these times, there was a sparkle in her eyes. Bringing back memories from the past the elderly get to hold those people in their minds that are long gone now and perhaps forgotten and they get to reminisce about places they visited and that at one point in time held a special place in their minds.

The next time you visit with your parent or parents, ask them to tell you about the time they were eighteen and see what they were like before you came along. 

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors and people who love to read.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

