What did they say not to say?

grandaddy and men  Everyone of us have had many sayings passed down to us as children. Some we have forgotten, yet some we have never forgotten they are carved in stone in our memories and very life.

It’s fun to think back on the different sayings we’ve heard over time.  My sister and I were talking about our grandfather.  He’s the one in the middle;  I believe this was taken in the late 30’s or early 40’s. He had quite a few sayings that left a big impression on us growing up, for we heard them often.

One of them was, “If you can’t say something nice about someone, don’t say anything at all”. As a child, I don’t know if we fully understood it, but I can tell you in our home, we never heard them talk bad about anyone. If we did, we were corrected and the saying was repeated.

I wish I could tell you I adhered to this all my life, but I will confess, I wasn’t always faithful to this saying. Certainly, I feel bad that I have ever let things pass my lips that should not have. I can tell you though, I am trying each day to live that saying. When I do falter, I am reminded immediately, to ‘take it back’ so to speak.

How about you? Any sayings you heard growing up, that have stayed with you?

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What did they say not to say?

  1. Thanks Jess for your comment. I love the sayings I heard growing up, it reinforces what I was taught every time I think of them.

  2. Jess says:

    My mom always told us (and showed us) that, “Actions speak louder than words.” We live and breathe that saying in our house. I’m very guilty of listening to what’s being said … then searching for the action behind the words. And no, I’m not necessarily an ‘action’ person. I have to watch myself, force myself to forget the platitudes and put forth some caring action. Good post!

Leave a Reply

