Did you know laughter is medicine? Crack Me Up!

abbot and costello Did you know laughter is medicine? A good sense of humor and laughter do wonders for our minds, bodies and souls.

Dr. Paul E. McGhee, PhD., said, “Your sense of humor is one of the most powerful tools you have to make certain your daily mood and emotional state support good health.”

Do you know that laughter is an antidote? Many health professionals tell us it’s a powerful antidote for stress, pain, and conflict. This works physically, mentally, and emotionally. We all know this. Nothing works faster for us than laughter. It balances us–mind and body.

Humor has always helped to lighten our burdens. It is all in how we perceive things and our personalities as to whether we become the gloom and doom of the day or become a person who does allow humor to permeate through us when it is needed, which is every single day.

220px-Norman_CousinsNorman Cousins, who served as Adjunct Professor, Medical Humanities for the School of Medicine at the University of California, LA, developed a recovery program incorporating mega doses of Vitamin C, along with a positive attitude, love, faith, hope, and laughter induced by Marx Brothers films. “I made the joyous discovery that ten minutes of genuine belly laughter had an anesthetic effect and would give me at least two hours of pain-free sleep,” he reported. “When the pain-killing effect of the laughter wore off, we would switch on the motion picture projector again and not infrequently, it would lead to another pain-free interval.” He believed human emotions were the key to human beings’ success in fighting illness.

I know for me, I do agree with him in regards to laughter helping. When my second child was born, being premature, she had to be fed every hour on the hour, because she would not stay awake to eat. When I was finally able to bring her home from the hospital, I would walk the floor with her, getting very little sleep. So I wound up walking and crying. After four months, to say the least, I was sleep deprived. And, I believe that caused me to have some depression. Somehow, I was smart enough, and knew I had to have humor and laughter around me.

abbott and costello2 I am an Abbott and Costello fan, have been all my life. It doesn’t matter how many times I watch one of their movies they always crack me up. I would watch these movies every day, many times, and the laughter turned my emotions around, it didn’t hurt that I was finally able to get some extra sleep either.

So yes, laughter is medicine, try it.

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Did you know laughter is medicine? Crack Me Up!

  1. Thanks for your comment, have a great day and laugh lots.

  2. Hello my family member! I wish to say that this post is amazing, great written and come with approximately all important infos.
    I’d like to peer more posts like this .

Leave a Reply

