You’re kidding, do you know?

220px-Tony_GalentoTony Galento (Domenico Antonio Galento 1910 – 1979) was an American heavyweight boxer. He was one of the most colorful fighters of his time. Here was a fighter who boxed a kangaroo and wrestled an octopus for a publicity stunt.

When asked what he thought of William Shakespeare, Tony Galento said, “I’ll moider da bum.”

Obviously, Tony didn’t know who William Shakespeare was.

I thought it was funny when I first read his remark, but then it occurred to me here was a man who may know a lot about boxing but very little about the arts and literature and I couldn’t help but think if only he had been more well-rounded .

I think it is important in raising children that we expose them, not just to sports, but to other facets such as art, literature, and music– as much as possible give them a well-rounded upbringing which will move them further in life to be successful human beings.

It isn’t a good thing to be lop-sided, eventually you will fall. Being balanced you  stand for a long time.

Even as adults, we need to take a look and see if we are balanced. Maybe if we make an effort to balance ourselves our children will see the value in expanding their world and will have better opportunities as they grow and mature.

Do you have an area you would like to expand? I have been working to make myself better balanced and I must admit, I have a way to go. I find I work too much and need to spend some of that time maybe exercising? I’m just saying, it sure couldn’t hurt me!

I’m glad I know who William Shakespeare is.Shakespeare

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

