If it were you, what would you choose?

Senior woman contemplatingYesterday, we dined out, and I overheard a woman telling her friend she was bitter. That her years had taken a toll, she just could not forgive those whom she evidently felt had hurt her in someway.

I tried not to listen to their conversation, but the woman was talking a little loud, although I am sure she wasn’t aware she was. If she had, I think she would have been very embarrassed.

From what I heard, something had happened to her when she was in her twenty’s. I guessed she must be in her 80’s today.  The thought occurred to me, this woman had spent 60 years holding on to this bitterness. It had not only shaped her life, but her entire being.

What could have been different for her, had she let go of this bitterness?  Her face was etched with unhappiness.

Me 27I can’t imagine going through life pulling that kind of baggage. For me personally, I choose to be happy and positive. It isn’t that I don’t have days that things happen to cause me grief, or unhappiness or even anger. It’s just I choose to deal with it, forgive and forget and move on, embracing the life I’ve been given and the opportunities to move forward.

How about you, what do you choose?

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If it were you, what would you choose?

  1. Unfortunately a lot of people walk around making themselves miserable. If you dwell on the past that’ll make you bitter. You have to live in the present and look forward to the future. Great post.

Leave a Reply

