How would you do it?

goalWould you say lack of focus is one of the big reasons people fail to achieve their goals in life, work and releationships?

Let’s face it, it is hard to keep your mind on your goal three hundred and sixty-five days a year, twenty-four hours a day. There are people who probably are so well disciplined they are able to do this. However, I am not one of them.

For me, I have to break things down. Yes, I do look at the overall picture but then I take that and break it down into doable projects. I work on a week system. In other words, if I have set a goal that is going to take approximately a year to accomplish I break it down into  fifty-two week.  Then I break down what must be done each week. Working out this factor helps me to put into action each week what will get me to my goal.

An example would be losing weight. If I needed to lose fifty-two pounds, I would break that down into fifty-two weeks, which works out to be one pound a week.  I can do that. This way, if I did happen to mess up my dieting one day, it would not kill my goal because I have the rest of the week to take into account the mistake and adjust my food intake.

Well, you get the jest of focus. You concentrate on what you need to do each day to accomplish your goal and make adjustments to compensate for mistakes while moving forward.

Perhaps you have another way that works, would you share it?

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How would you do it?

  1. Hi Jess, sounds like to me you are focused. Some days I am better than others. But I keep trying. My husband would disagree with you as to my being organized. He calls my office “the cave” even to the point of referring to my cell phone as the “bat phone”.

    Thanks for thinking about me…we both know I need your thoughts…and prayers.

  2. jess says:

    Yikes! You make me feel very unfocussed! 🙂 I can tell by this post you’re way more organized than I am. I don’t think I can look at the big picture. I’ll get overwhelmed. I guess I don’t set big, long-range goals. I make my list of things I want to accomplish and I just do them and check them off, but most of those things don’t cover any more than a few days and weeks. A month at the most. I’m a “small” thinker who deals in “immediacy” if that makes sense. Good post, Susan. I’ve been thinking about you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

