It’s time to be done!

snowThis time of year snow is not fun like it is at the beginning of the season. By now we are ready for spring and the flowers. My heart goes out to all the people in the country who are still dealing with snow.

Where I grew up it was not the usual fare to have snow. I can only recall a few. The first snow I remember I was five and my sister was three. We were so excited watching the snow come down. Our grandmother made sure we were covered, head to toe, to protect us from the cold. We trudged through the snow, back and forth, waiting for our family to build our first snowman. Finally it was done! There was total joy as we helped roll the snowballs to get them to the right size. Then my grandfather placed them one on top of the other. A beautiful job. We couldn’t reach the face so he and my Mom lifted us up so we could put the face, scarf, and hat on our new snowman. We thought he was beautiful. A work of art, even if the face was a little crooked. Our joy was short-lived. After a couple of days the temperature rose and the sun came out. Alas, the snowman was gone.

I wish for the snow to move as quick as possible out of these areas that are still dealing with the snow. For we know it is not fun for them this time around. No, no fun this late in the year.

By the time we are in the midst of summer, we will all be wishing for snow! Wishing for just a few minutes to be out in it playing, sledding and rolling snow balls for the ever fun snow ball fight.

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors and people who love to read.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s time to be done!

  1. Wow…snow falling and in April. The weather is so amazing. Thanks for sharing Chris. I too will try not to complain.

  2. As I am typing this, there is snow fallling outside of my window. I promise that this summer, no matter how hot and dry it may get (I can only hope), I will not complain about it.

Leave a Reply

