Ready for some humor and wisdom?

Erma_BombeckErma Bombeck said, “When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left, and could say, ‘I used everything you gave me’.” She was an American humorist who had a tremendous amount of popularity. She wrote a newspaper column that described home life from the mid 60’s to late 90’s. She wrote books, most of which were bestsellers. Her humor was both down to earth and delightful. She gave our lives a wonderful lift. Regardless of how we were feeling she could always make us feel better with her humor.

I wonder if she knew how smart she was. During her life she brought a lot of laughter to us and wonderful words of wisdom. All of which we can use today. I listed some of her quotes here and hope you get a chuckle and that one or more will touch your heart.

Erma Bombeck quotes:

“Insanity is hereditary. You can catch it from your kids.”

“My second favorite household chore is ironing. My first one being hitting my head on the top bunk bed until I faint.”

“There’s nothing sadder in this world than to awake Christmas morning and not be a child.”

“If a man watches three football games in a row, he should be declared legally dead.”

“Never loan your car to anyone to whom you’ve given birth.”

“If you can laugh at it, you can live with it.”

“It takes a lot of courage to show your dreams to someone else.”

“I didn’t fight my way to the top of the food chain to be a vegetarian”.[2]

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

