Are you taking care?

Susan at DisneyEvery day there seems to be things that need our attention. I wake up and try to prioritize my day. Making a list helps me to keep in front of me the things I feel are the most important, and as I mark those off, I continue down the list. So far, I haven’t gotten through the entire list in over a month. I get up the next day, going over what was left and prioritize those into that days new list.

I noticed however, this past month there was nothing on my list’s for me personally. Now I am not suggesting that I become self-centered and care only about me and doing just for me–I’m suggesting I include in my list things I really do need to do for myself. Like making time for appointments with doctors and dentist and certainly a hair trim every now and then. Wouldn’t hurt, if I would schedule myself a day off either to run errands that don’t get done.

My sister reminded me it was important to take care of myself. After all, we don’t get younger and since we are getting older, we need to be better about taking care of us mentally, physically, emotionally and spiritually. We also need to find the time to relax and enjoy what we have and those we love.

What about you? Are you taking care of you?

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors and people who love to read.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Are you taking care?

  1. I’m glad it helped. I have really had to re-focus all my efforts and listing my “to do” list. It seems it is easy to get off track. Thanks for commenting.

  2. Susan,
    That is a good reminder. I recently discovered that I had too many things on my “to do” and I wasn’t finishing any of them. I am taking steps to correct that. I also have noticed that I need to stop allowing others to plan their day and letting myself get caught up in their plans. My word to myself now is “focus.”

Leave a Reply

