Are you stuck or moving forward?

david livingston “I am prepared to go anywhere, provided it be forward.” David Livingstone said that. And I agree with him, of course. It is much better to go forward in life than to go backward. I believe we need to learn from the past so we don’t repeat the mistakes in our future. I also believe we need to take the good and continue doing that in the future and improving on it.

Sadly however, there are those who get stuck and do not go forward or backward. They aren’t going anywhere.

Sometimes I have found myself thinking of the past, especially when I was a child, (I really enjoyed my childhood) and reliving good times and bringing back memories that were special. And that is fine, I just have to remember that it is the past, and though it is okay to remember it and hopefully pass the stories to my children and grandchildren it is not okay to live in the past. I don’t need to get stuck in that time…I need to be moving forward.

Are you moving forward or are you stuck?

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors and people who love to read.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Are you stuck or moving forward?

  1. I am moving forward…. now. I did live in the past for a while and it’s nice to be on the path forward again 🙂

    • That’s great Christy. I think we all gravitate to our past sometime, but like you said, it is always good to know we are on the forward path again. Thanks for your comment.

  2. Jeris Hamm says:

    Good morning reminder!

Leave a Reply

