Should we say something?

The ThinkerMy grandfather, while raising my sister and I, said, “If you can’t say something good about someone, don’t say anything at all.” Of course there are many meanings to that statement, but back in the 50’s he was talking about gossip. He truly thought that was a terrible thing to do.

I will admit I have been guilty of this. Wish of course I wasn’t. There are times we get caught up in conversations with people and before you know it someone is saying something about someone else and we are either standing there listening or we are adding our two cents.

Normally, what they are saying usually isn’t very nice. And if you think about it, how does this person doing the talking know this information. Is it true or false? Did they stretch the truth?

A lot of damage can be done to someones reputation just by words that come from our mouths. I am trying to be more cognizant of what I say and I am trying to stay out of conversations like that. When they start, I make a deliberate choice to excuse myself. To think about it, I probably pat myself on the back as I leave those involved in the conversation of gossip.

I wonder though, have I done what really needed to be done or should I have told them why I was leaving the group. Not to change them but to let them know I thought it was wrong for me to be involved with talking about someone.

What do you think? Should you say something?

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors and people who love to read.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

