Do you need to check yours?

I read the other that April is derived from the Latin name Aprilis…although they did say that was uncertain. Ah, even ‘they’ aren’t sure about it. To me April was always one of those months that just had 30 days in it and it really offered very little in terms of fun. That was the time as a kid we had to finish up what we were studying in school and get ready for test toward the end of the month because school let out in May. So you can see why I didn’t feel it had much to offer.

However,in etymology, history of words, ‘they’ say it means “To open”…wow! That’s when our trees and flowers begin to “open”. Ox-eye daisies
What occurred to me was I was wrong in the way I looked at the month of April. You see, I should have been excited about the month of April. This was the month that began the season of finishing the school term. The month was the beginning of the opening to a summer of fun and frolic for us kids.

As a kid we are probably unaware that how we look at things is important. It can bring happiness or sadness to our thinking. As adults have we somehow not learned that part of life’s lesson. The importance of how we perceive things.

???????????I think this month, I will use to look at what needs to be finished in order that new beginnings can start. Also, I think I will check and see how I perceive things as they pop up…just in case I need to adjust my perception.

What about you? Need to check your perception?

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors and people who love to read.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

