So, how about you?

Two Young Women in Front of the Computer TalkingThe other day a friend was telling me how upset she was over our school situation in the city. The more she talked, the angrier she became. Finally, when I could get a word in I asked her if she had attended the meeting held a few days before about this very thing. She looked at me like I had hit her with a dirty dish rag. “Well, well, no, I work all day and have to come home and fix dinner for my family, I don’t have the time to do that. They should know the right things to do. That’s what they’re paid for.”

There was really no response to make to her statement. I wondered how many times I had complained about something in my city, state of country and left it at that. Complained to a friend or family member but never to the proper people. The people who have the job to make the decisions.

I know it is important to use our voices in this world. I know we have the freedom to do just that. But with that comes a great deal of responsibility. The responsibility to think through the issues, weigh the pros and cons for each side. Let’s face it, that takes time. There are many issues today that need our input. We all are busy with our everyday lives and have little time but perhaps we could find just a few minutes to fax, email, call, write the proper people and voice our thoughts,opinions, wants and needs. Hopefully we can do that after we have thought the issue through using our common sense.

it is important for each of us to use our voices in this world. There are so many things that need our input. We get so busy in our own day-to-day living we forget we are a part of something bigger than just ourselves and our own families. I know I haven’t been diligent in making known my thoughts, in fact there are times I have been passive…in other words I have not been active in living. I have allowed myself to just float through whatever at the time.

Will I change, not overnight, but I will begin to make an effort to notice when I am complaining about something to look at that issue, and determine what I really think about it for myself, family and the other guy. Maybe I can see a common denominator that would be good for both and then can voice my thoughts to the people who can make the changes. Who knows, it just may be something they had not thought of!

How about you?

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So, how about you?

  1. Jeris Hamm says:

    Great thoughts!

Leave a Reply

