What difference would it make in your life?

elderly workingYesterday a woman I sat next to in a meeting leaned over and out of the blue, told me she was depressed. She said she felt alone, and knew no-one liked her. She went on to say she had no purpose in life, she was sad and lonely. Then she said, “I don’t like my life. I miss companionship, I have no friends. No one I could call and say let’s go for coffee.” In the very next breath she said, “You know I’m a loner.”

I wasn’t sure what to say so I asked her what she might be doing to change her situation. The question startled her. She got a little defensive and said, “How can I change that? It’s just how it is!”

My heart ached for this person. After what seemed to be quite some time, she said, “I don’t know what to do. Do you have a suggestion?” So I began telling her I thought she needed to get out of her house, first, no one was going to knock on her door asking her to be their friend. I wasn’t being ugly or smart, I just wanted her full attention and to make a point…it was totally in her control.

I suggested she could volunteer at the VA Hospital one day or so a week. This would be a boost to our service men and women who were in the hospital. Or how about volunteering with the Red Cross, Salvation Army, hospitals, nursing homes, Ronald McDonald Houses, etc., they all can use volunteers to help out. I explained when you are busy helping others you get out of yourself, and belive it or not you get a wonderful feeling inside that your life really meant something that day to someone else. I told her if she would continue doing this, she would begin to make friends and start enjoying her life. She would find she had a good purpose.

She grunted, “I know I should, but right now I just don’t feel up to it. I will wait and see if the depression medicine the doctor gave me helps, then maybe I can do it, maybe I won’t be so down.”

There was nothing else for me to say. Under my breath I lifted her up in prayer, that she would change her mind, and step out to make new friends and help others.

We can always help someone else, if we will just look around. Just a smile at someone could do wonders for them that day.

Look around, can you make a difference in someone’s life today?

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors and people who love to read.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

