What do you suggest?

sad c hild I noticed yesterday, one of the individuals in our group was very sad-looking. I watched her for several minutes. She never changed her expression. At lunch I pulled her aside and asked if she was okay. She said she wasn’t and proceeded to tell me what happened. It seems her live-in boyfriend came home late last night and she was sure he had been with someone else. Now, I don’t mean to be nosy, but I had to ask how she could be certain he was with someone else. “Because he was 20 minutes late, and well, he just looked guilty. So I asked him who he was with and he looked at me like he thought I was nuts. I asked him again, and he said no-one…traffic was heavy.”

So obviously I wasn’t going to let that bit of information go by without asking, “Is he often late?”

“Well, no, not very often, he is usually home at the same time everyday.”

Now here was the query I had. Do I ask why she would suspect him or let it drop. To be honest, I didn’t want to go any further with this conversation.

I really think she was projecting her insecurities about herself into her relationship. Isn’t that what we all do sometimes? An insecurity we have will rear its ugly head and before you know it our mind takes off on a wild ride through swamp-land.

The thing that is sad is, she stewed all evening, had very little sleep, and was still stewing this morning. Think of the toxic chemicals she was releasing into her body. We all are reading about these toxic chemicals that we produce that are deadly for our bodies. If a company was putting this toxic stuff into the air and we were breathing it we would be up in arms. But, alas, when we are producing these chemicals into our own bodies, most of the time we aren’t even aware of them.

If only we could find a way to stop our ugly thinking-producing chemicals-that harm us.

Any suggestions? Can you share with us ways we can stop polluting our own bodies?

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

