What would you have done?

Do you ever just allow your mind to takeover and run rampant? When you do, what happens? Does it go in directions of dreams you’ve had, desires you have, things you wish you could achieve? Or does it go in directions of feeling sad, lonely, miserable and wishing things were different?

If it goes in the latter direction, then I think we are blocking important things trying to get our attention. We have this-sort of built-in mechanism that alerts us when we need to think about something important.

The other day, I over heard a group of ladies talking in the restaurant. One was saying how lonely she was and they all agreed they too were lonely. Then one said she wished her life was different, another commented on how miserable she was. Just listening-okay, maybe I should not have listened, but frankly, how could I not? They were at the next table and they weren’t whispering.

I began to feel tired, I didn’t want to eat anymore of my food and I felt sad. It took me a few minutes but it hit me their conversation had put out enough toxic vibes that it had affected how I felt. So I paid the waiter and left. No, I didn’t finish my meal. I left the restaurant, went two blocks down the street, entered Ben and Jerry’s–order a double chocolate ice cream cone. My attitude changed after a few bites. I began putting good thoughts back into my mind…”yum, this is good.” Eventually after telling myself how good the ice cream tasted, and how great chocolate was, I began telling myself other good things to counter the toxicity of what I heard earlier.

chocolate ice creamSo I guess the moral of this story is–have some chocolate ice cream handy to feed yourself good thoughts. Well, they say what you feed your mind with is important!

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What would you have done?

  1. Gary Fearon says:

    Beautiful and important message, Susan. Since we are what we eat, I only eat food that makes me happy!

Leave a Reply

