Where are you?

It is amazing the doors that open when you are ready for them. In my career, like most people I did what was in front of me. When I was just starting out at 20 looking for a job, I wasn’t looking for a career so to speak–just a job with a good company.

 fall2I knew I needed a company that had room for growth and a company that afforded opportunities to the people who worked for them.  I felt the salary would go up based on my abilities to perform a good job, be dependable and responsible. I always felt fortunate to have a job. Back then there were more people than jobs so you were grateful to have one. You were also aware that if you didn’t perform, there were other people waiting in line to get your job. Hard to believe forty-four years went so fast. But time doesn’t wait, it moves and quickly.

However, when I retired, as I said above, doors began to open for me that would fuel my passsion.

My mother asked me when I started a writers group, why I was doing this? My answer,  “I don’twant to sit down in front of a chair and watch television all day. Our lives have to count even after we are old enough to retire. Surely there is something I can give back to others while enjoying it myself.” I don’t think that answer really satisfied her, she would much prefer I spend all the extra time with her. I do visit every two weeks. But I believe people at retirement age are in a position to seek after their passion. Find what they love and do it. I believe we are still supposed to be productive as long as we breath life.”

For me, this works. I have worked all my life, and been a productive part of society. I see no reason to stop. Only now, I can do what I truly love to do.

What about you? Where are you and where are you going?

 

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where are you?

  1. Christy,
    Thanks for your comment. Writing is a reward unto itself, isn’t it? It gives life a special flavor. You are a woman of courage and gives your life spice. Keep writing and enjoying words, they are the bread.

  2. I decided to change my life’s direction and pursue my writing skills after a near-death experience. I am so pleased I have — it is hard work but so rewarding! Thanks for the motivational post.

Leave a Reply

