Did You Choose?

Me 17It’s nice to know that we can take a break from blogging. We get so caught up in the world we live in we wind up with way to much on our plates. We forget we need that ever so cherished down time for our mind, body and soul.

I wonder just how many of us pick and choose what we do compared to those who are called to do what they do. Do you ever wonder about people? Why they are doing what they do? Through the years I’ve heard so many people complain about their jobs how they hate it. When you are around them, that is all they talk about.

Last week I heard someone talking about their job and how they wished they didn’t have to work there. I listened only because I was sitting in a group with this person. Finally, out of sheer exhaustion of the conversation and wanting it to end I blurted out “Why do you work there if you hate it so much?” This person looked like I had hit them with a wet dish rag. They stuttered for a few seconds, trying to find, I guess, an explanation and said, “Well, because I have to, I can’t do anything else.” Wow! I could not believe the words I heard. No, I didn’t let it go. For some reason I felt it my duty to explain to them they had not been sentenced to work there. They did have freedom and could look for other work. As I was saying that, their eyes looked like a deer in headlights. I realized right then, they were doing what they wanted because it was what they needed.

There are so many reasons people work in jobs they don’t like. Certainly not everyone complains about it. We are a people who do what we need to do and go on about our business for the most part. But it did make me wonder. Do people know they can change what they are doing? Let’s face it, in order to change anything we have to put out effort and spend the time required to change, whether it be our jobs or ourselves. The nice thing to know? It’s in our control.

So do you like what you are doing today?
Do you want to change what you are doing?

Have a good day.

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors and people who love to read.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

