‘PLUCK THE DAY’

Yesterday, I visited my mom in the nursing home. Everytime I go in, I am taken aback. You see in the lobby, there are two televisions, nice comfortable chairs and sofas. Some of the people are sitting in the chairs and some on the sofas with family visiting while others are in a wheel chair. Some of those in the wheel chair are talking and visiting, but there are some that are either asleep, or just staring out the door.

Further in to the left is the dining room, and most of the times I visit, there is something going on. Bingo, birthday parties, church, or lunch. Sometimes a tea party.  They are having a good time, talking and laughing.

As I start down the hall, I see some in their wheel chairs just sitting, oblivious to anything going on around them. They put them there so they can be around activity even though they don’t know it’s going on.

I am so grateful my mom, even though she has to get around in a wheel chair, is alert, talkative and up on sports, politics and the world at large. You can talk any subject and she can converse with up to date info. She knows more about what is going on than I do.

What breaks my heart are the ones who don’t know what is going on and the ones who don’t have family and visitors. The ones who just sit and can’t do anything.

It always reminds me to be grateful that I can walk, talk, see, hear and do thousands of things and to appreciate that I enjoy doing these things.  I hope as I get older in life, that I will always be able to walk, talk, see and hear, and I especially want to be able to do things, to be productive and helpful to myself and to others. The best gift we can give is to do something for someone else. My second wish is that I continue to learn all I can learn and use it. I cannot imagine living in a world where I could not do anything but sit and stare.

So I make a lot of effort to continue to learn and be productive and to help others. We know the phrase Carpe Diem which has a loose translation of ‘seize the day’, if you dig deeper in Latin you will see it means ‘pluck the day’ kinda like our phrase ‘strike while the iron is hot’ or the phrase ‘gather ye rosebuds while ye may’

Whether I seize the day or pluck the day I just want to make sure I grab it and use it.

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors and people who love to read.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ‘PLUCK THE DAY’

  1. Annette says:

    Going pluck me some flowers today and sing the “rubber tree” song first thing in the morning cause it gives me “high hope”. 🙂

Leave a Reply

