WHEN IS TO BIG AND WHEN IS TO LITTLE

WHEN IS TO BIG AND WHEN IS TO LITTLEYesterday while running errands I ran in to Walgreen’s to pick up some much-needed cough drops. Standing in line the man in front of me was a fashion plate in motorcycle clothing from head to toe. The entire outfit including his shoes looked brand new– he definitely looked as if he was ready for a photo shoot.

The man was 6’2 or 6’3 weighing approximately 235 to 250 lbs. After we went outside, I noticed him standing by his motorcycle. It was a beautiful cycle but with him standing by it I realized it was a small motorcycle. His size you would expect to see a large Harley.  As he pulled off  it confirmed my thinking with him sitting on the bike, he was too big for something so little.

As I watched him drive off I thought he must feel very comfortable on that bike and safe. But if I were a rider and his size I believe I would want something bigger to ride. Maybe he was comfortable on that bike and felt safe and secure.  It dawned on me I too like to stay in my comfort zone, doing things that are easy and things I  am used to instead of getting out and trying bigger things. Let’s face it if he got on a big bike he would be out of his comfort zone for a while and might not feel quite as safe.

As I got in my car I made a mental note, to make an effort when presented with something that is hard to do to try it, to step out, take courage and who knows I might just find myself on a motor cycle too one day.

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
Image | This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to WHEN IS TO BIG AND WHEN IS TO LITTLE

  1. If you want a great Step Outside of the Box Weekend then take a Learn to Motorcycle Course over the weekend. Its fun, its inexpensive and if you pass the course you get a motorcycle endorsement for your license. I guarantee you will have an adventurous time. Thank me latter after you take the course

  2. Gary says:

    Susan, I always knew you were a biker chick at heart!

  3. Annette says:

    Varoom Varoom, Susan 🙂

Leave a Reply

