Communication. Sometimes we forget we have the ability to make things much clearer than we do but allow ourselves to be too occupied to say the things we need to say clearly.

Take for example with a child. There was a big family reunion when I was three. As you can see I was a darling child. Everybody was busy either cooking or talking or feeding babies. That was what my mom was doing, feeding my baby sister. I told my mom three times I was hungry and she kept telling me soon dear, soon. Well as with any child I decided to take matters into my own hands. I walked away from the house on a two lane main road of highway two blocks to Mr. Mangum’s diner. When I went in I told him I was hungry. He asked me what I wanted and I told him ‘nabs(round crackers with peanut butter between them) and a grapette’ (a grape drink). Immediately he put me on the stool and put what I ask for in front of me and I began eating and drinking.  I knew there I would be fed immediately. Obviously I had been there with my parents before. By now you can imagine everyone was frantically looking for me. After Mr. Mangum gave me what I asked for he called my mother. Well here she comes with my grandfather. She was not happy with me, however, I explained I told her over and over I was hungry. Needless to say I was scolded.You have to remember this was 1947, it was not dangerous, besides the town only had 500 people in it. Everyone knew everyone. Today a child could not do that.

I think it is important to listen to what someone says to us, make sure we are hearing what they are saying and respond in kind. Let’s communicate.

 

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. You are so right, I am a sucker for Nabs and Grapette. Pure comfort.

  2. Gary says:

    Love this story, Susan. What we have here is a failure to communicate (and not enough Nabs and Grapette)!

Leave a Reply

