Focus is one
of the big reasons people fail to achieve their goals in life, in work, in
relationships. You might say lack of focus relates directly to failure.

It’s hard to keep your mind on your goal three hundred and sixty-five days a year,
twenty-four hours a day. There are I am sure people who are so self-disciplined
that they achieve this. However, I am not one of them.

For me, I have to break things down. Yes, I do look at the overall picture but then I
take that and break it down into doable projects. I work on a week system. In
other words, I have fifty-two weeks to accomplish a specific goal that I set
for myself. Working out the factors involved on how many times I need to do one
thing in a week and putting that into action, gets me one week closer to my
goal.

An example would be losing weight. If I needed to lose fifty-two pounds, I would break
that down into fifty-two weeks, which works out to be one pound a week.  I can do that. This way, if I did happen to mess up my dieting one day, it would not kill my goal because I have the rest of the week to take into account the mistake and adjust my food intake.

Well, you get the jest of focus. You concentrate on what you need to do each day to
accomplish your goal and make adjustments to compensate for mistakes while
moving forward.

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

