NO WAY––YES WAY

No way would I want to change lives with someone else! Boy, if only I had their life! Which one of these statements have you or do you utter? Isn’t it funny how some people are not happy with the life they have they want to swap it for someone else’s life. I often wonder if they would indeed like to swap, could they really be that unhappy with their life? And if they are wonder why they have done nothing to change their life to make it more like the one they want.

Forrest Gump said “Life is like a box of chocolates.” Is it? Could it be life is that way because we don’t make plans to obtain the life we want. Are we kinda like the boy who sits on the raft and floats down the river, letting life take us where ever, when ever?

Pick one thing you would like different in your life today. Write it down. Now list ten things, off the top of your head that you could do to bring that about. Get out of your box, let your imagination loose. Now when you finish with the ten things take one at a time, and put to paper exactly how you can do that, the date you will start and the date it will be accomplished. Make your plan, work your plan, succeed in life. Then someone else will want your life.

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors and people who love to read.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to NO WAY––YES WAY

  1. Frazzled Mom says:

    Love this one. Just this weekend I decided I need more Christian friends (like you!). Our church is not a very friendly place and we’ve been going to it for 16 years. So I contacted a friend I lost touch with because she switched her kids to another school. I see her occasionally at soccer. I Facebooked her and set up lunch today. I’ve wished for more Christian friends for a long time, and I finally started doing something about it. One friend at a time.

    • Hi Cathy,
      So glad to see you hear. You are right, in order for us to have friends we have to start the ball rolling, but you notice what happens with a ball when you roll it…it just keeps going. Thanks for dropping by.

  2. Annette says:

    Making my list, checking it twice, gonna find out who’s…opps I got side-tracked. I’ve always thought God knew what he was doing when he gave me my life and it’s my job to live it the best I can…engaged in the world.

  3. white water takes the raft anywhere the water is going, that’s why oars were made. Oars steer the boat away from danger and lead the rafter to where he or she wants to go. We have a lot of oars in our lives, but I wonder how many of them we miss.

  4. Gary says:

    It’s a reassuring thing to realize that, despite the complexities and complications we each face, we still wouldn’t trade our life for someone else’s. Forrest’s philosophy may be rich with wide-eyed wonder and discovery, but we do catch more fish when we make a plan and cast our bread upon those waters. Thanks for your continued good advice.

Leave a Reply

