LIFE EXTENDED

While visiting my mother in the nursing home, I looked around at the people sitting in their wheelchairs out in the lobby, and those sitting in chairs. Most of them  had a far away look in their eyes. It reminded me of being in school when we were kids.  Many days we would look out the window and  day-dream.  Always looking ahead, anxious to get out of school and go play.  How much did we lose for not taking advantage of the present? How much knowledge did we not gain because we were not listening.

Looking at the faces of the men and women in the nursing home, I realized not one was smiling. What were they thinking and what were they feeling? Were they looking ahead?

I think life gets extended for some people because they haven’t finished their  job here on earth. I decided I needed to look around and be sure not to miss one moment in the present. Is their someone I can help? Maybe I could go and read to someone for an hour who can’t read anymore. Or maybe I can drop by and visit someone who can’t get out anymore. One thing for sure, I need to stop procrastinating on doing things in my life that will make it better for me and for others.

As long as there is breath, there is a purpose for our being here.  Don’t miss the extended part of your life.  Use it.

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors and people who love to read.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to LIFE EXTENDED

  1. Doyne Phillips says:

    That hit home for me. 6/8/2008 was my new begining. I am living my extended life and celebrating everyday!

  2. Gary says:

    That’s powerful, Susan, and very motivating. You’re so right — every minute we have is too precious to waste. Thanks for that wise encouragement.

Leave a Reply

