If You Could Hear My Brain

Last night, when everything was quiet, I sat and listened to my brain! Now you may think that can’t be, but it’s true.  Do you remember the newspaper trucks back in the 30’s and 40’s how they would go through the streets and drop off bundles of newspapers, so the newsstand on the corners would have them to sell? Well, it seemed a truck was going through my brain, and dropping bits of words, thoughts, ideas, the trouble was…it was going too  fast and I couldn’t make out what it was saying.

I think it’s that way  for most of us.  It’s hard for us to slow down, let alone slow the brain down.  Finally I started taking slow deep breaths in and slowly letting them out; concentrating on the breathing finally helped me to slow down me and my brain where I better understood some of the things my brain was throwing out to me.  This to me meant I needed to find times in my hectic schedule each day to take breathing breaks…it was amazing what my brain was saying after I slowed everything enough to hear it. I really had some great ideas.

About Susan Reichert

Editor-in-Chief of Southern Writers Magazine, a magazine for authors.We highlight and promote authors and their books. Married with four daughters. Live in the South. President of a Writers Group.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to If You Could Hear My Brain

  1. Thanks for that insight. I, too, need to slow down. I remember that song Simon and Garfunkel sung. “Slow down, you move too fast, got to make the morning last . . . da di di da da , ,
    feeling groovy!”

    • lmswords says:

      I remember the song. It’s a shame I didn’t listen to the words a little better even back then. For Time does fly. Thanks for your comment.

  2. Annette Mastron says:

    Your brain truck’s words are screaming at my brain. Thank you. My brain is breathing 🙂

Leave a Reply

